Challenge: Your Government gives you 1 hour to answer the question of how to make education more Equitable…What do you say?


I have one question regarding this post. What is your definition of personalize learning. In my district we have personalized learning goals for our students. I do believe is a great practice, however hard to manage when you have 60 students and teach 2 subjects. Keeping track of about 30 individual goals for ech one of my 60 students in one subject is overwhelming, to say the least,
even for me, an experienced teacher.

Personalizing Learning

A couple of weeks ago, I was inside the “big black box” also known as the British Columbia Ministry of Education.  If you know that I am a teacher from Surrey, B.C. you might jump to the conclusion that I was there picketing, slashing tires or doing the ol’ “if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” switcheroo.  Well, none of that is actually the case.  My adventure was a little more bland, but I still felt cool like Harriet the Spy.

I guess you could say I was there doing my own research–trying to get my own sense of where the Ministry is angling the new BC Education Plan–but I’d also admit it was a “job interview”.

Students and education are number one for me, so if I thought I could make a larger impact from with in the Big House (you know, Trojan Horse-style), then I felt it was…

View original post 1,439 more words

About drcorretjer

Doctorate in Administrator Leadership for Teaching and Learning. Vast experience working with English language Learners and their families. Has successfully implemented programs that increased parental involvement in schools and professional collaboration among teachers. Has presented at local, state, and national levels on the topics of curriculum and best teaching practices for English Language Learners. Specialized in alternative assessments for English Language Learners to include portfolios. My goal at this time is to mentor,and nurture new teachers or prospective teachers. I'd like to create a bridge between their college education and the realities of a public school classroom. I believe we can attract and retain the best and the brightest if we provide them with a real foundation and help them be successful. Our children deserve that. Publications: Listen to me: Exploring students' voices regarding homework Lambert Academic Publishing |May 11, 2011 Most of the research conducted about homework is based on adults’ perspectives. This case study explored the perspectives of 5th and 6th grade students in comparison with 10 teachers’ perceptions regarding homework completion. The author administered questionnaires and conducted in depth interviews using a stratified purposive sample and extreme case sampling; which educed the participants’ perceptions and practices about homework. The students’ represented 4 distinct groups: English Language Learners, general education, gifted and talented and special education. The teachers’ instruct 5th and 6th grade. The results of the study indicate that students do not complete their homework because they find it too hard, boring, or they do not understand it. Interestingly, students think that worksheets are hard and boring. However, they are not against homework! This book should benefit teachers, parents, school administrators and staff developers. It would also help develop homework practices that would increase homework completion and student learning. This book brings out the voices of the students to the forefront. After all, they are the ones doing the homework. Listen to them!
This entry was posted in Defining equity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

